University of Southern California Mrs. T.H. Chan Division of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy
Smaller text Bigger text Print this page
Home USC Rancho USC/Rancho Pressure Ulcer Prevention Project USC/Rancho Pressure Ulcer Prevention Project
About the Project People In depth
Home | Articles |

Different Kinds of Pressure Ulcers

What Are the Stages of Pressure Ulcers? Booklets About Pressure Ulcers If You Use the Internet... Show All Read in more detail about this subject

Different Kinds of Pressure Ulcers

A pressure ulcer is what a doctor or nurse calls a pressure sore or bedsore. A pressure ulcer can be very dangerous to your health. You might need surgery when you have a pressure ulcer. That is why it is a good idea to prevent pressure ulcers.

There are different kinds of pressure ulcers. These kinds are called stages. There are four stages. The first stage is small and easy to take care of. The last stage is very dangerous and might need surgery and months of resting in bed. It is important to find a pressure ulcer early. That way, your doctor can do something before it gets bigger.

Here is what Chris said about the stages of pressure ulcers:

"They show you videos [at the hospital] before you leave: 'This is what a pressure ulcer can do. This is how you get it. It can start off as a bruise. It could start as a scratch. It can start as a mere abrasion. You know, like a skid mark. And then, eventually, turn into Stage 1. Stage 2, the skin breaks. Stage 3, muscles. Stage 4 is bone. And it happens very quickly.' They show you a quick film before you go."